Castles and Drones

My brother and I took a drive around north Wales last summer taking in the scenery and visiting as many castles as we could handle. The biggest one we dropped in on was Caernarfon Castle to the north west of the country, just below Anglesey. The castle dominates the skyline with its walls soaring high above the harbour – it looks quite spectacular. In my opinion, it is one of the best castles I have ever visited (and I used to live in one!).

dsc_0798

Walking around the perimeter gives you a sore neck as you stare up trying to count all the towers. I can’t remember how many there were but by the end of the day I’d climbed to the top of every single one of them! Inside, you can walk along all of the walls which offer fantastic sights of the town, harbour and the seaside. This was brilliant, how could you get a better view of the area? My brother had the answer.

My brother is a proud owner of a drone, one of the fancy ones that you can attach a digital camera to. It has a range of up to a kilometre and a GPS tracking system that allows it to return to its starting point if the battery gets low. It’s a nice piece of engineering.

Some individuals reckon drones can be invasive so I was a bit curious as to how people would react to a one buzzing around them and the castle. The reaction we did get wasn’t what I expected.

The drone isn’t quiet and you will probably hear it before you see it. As my brother flew it around the towers, there were some people at the top of them. They heard the buzzing and looked confused. After a quick search they spotted the drone and pointed. They called their friends over and pointed some more. Then, all at once, everyone on top of the tower smiled and waved frantically. The waving wasn’t restricted to just the one tower as we discovered. Every tower we flew by had the same reception – confusion, searching, pointing, waving. My brother informed me that this was a typical reaction and no matter where in the world he took it, people smiled and waved.

dsc_0771

I was at the Angel of the North once and approached a chap flying his drone around. I quizzed him to see if he had the same reaction that we had had at the castle and he informed me that he had got plenty of videos of national monuments with people waving at him.

When we’d finished flying around the castle and along the harbour, some people who had been catching crabs approached us armed with curiosity and a barrage of questions. Again, my brother told me this was common – even if he was in the middle of a field with no one in sight, as soon as the drone took off, people came out of nowhere to talk to him about it.

If you don’t have the luxury of seeing Caernarfon castle by air, I recommend seeing it on foot! You’ll get a work out climbing all of the towers and there are plenty of things to see and do in the side rooms. My brother took great pleasure in trying on all the hats.

dsc_0808

Pop over to their website http://www.caernarfon-castle.co.uk/ for more information. Tell them Liam sent you!

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

