Friday Fancy – Blackpool Tower

blackpool-tower

Blackpool Tower courtesy of Google Maps

Believe it or not, I have never been to the top of the Blackpool Tower. I lived in Blackpool for over twenty years and in all that time, I never saw the town from the top of its iconic landmark. It’s a perfect example of how when you live in a place, you don’t do those touristy things.

The Blackpool Tower is world famous. Strictly Come Dancing film a show from the Tower Ballroom every year and the tower has recently featured in Tim Burton’s film, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (it’s good!). I was on the phone to a supplier in America one time and when I told her to ship the stock to the Blackpool branch she asked “Blackpool? With the Tower Ballroom?”

When I went to university and told people I was from Blackpool, everyone thought that I spent the weekends on the rollercoasters and riding donkeys on the beach. They couldn’t believe I’d never been to the top of the tower.

I’ve done everything else the tower has to offer – I’ve seen the circus, danced in the Tower Ballroom and even been held in the docks at the Blackpool Dungeon. All of these things are worth a visit.

I should go to the top one day. I’d like to do it on a sunny day with not too much wind to get a good view. I might be waiting a while for these desirable conditions in Blackpool though!

This entry was posted in Bucket List, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

