Friday Fancy – The Great Wall of China

great-wall-of-china

The Great Wall of China courtesy of Google Maps

Hello, and welcome to this year’s first Friday Fancy! This week, the place I would like to visit is in China. Some people say you can see it from space, other people say that you can’t. This doesn’t bother me as I want to see it from the ground. If you haven’t guessed by now, I would love to see the Great Wall of China, and not just the touristy bits. I want to see it all…

I want to see the overgrown bits of the wall, I want to hop along the broken bits and I want to climb over the tumbled down bits. I want to see the touristy bits where, ironically, you can’t see the wall because there are too many people there, and the off-the-beaten-track bits. The Great Wall is over 5,000 miles long (according to some sources) which is only a tad bit longer than the seventy-three miles I walked along Hadrian’s Wall many summers ago. A part of me even wants to witness the unfavourable repaired section that was finished last September.

The chances of me walking the entire length of the wall? Zero. I’d probably get bored after 2,000 miles anyway (that’s very far). In fact, the odds on me managing to walk one-hundred miles of the wall are slim, but I’m willing to give it a go. I have a good pair of boots…

This entry was posted in Bucket List, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

