Friday Fancy – Transporter Bridge Bungee

2017-01-21_10-16-10

Teesside Transporter Bridge courtesy of Google Maps

Hello, and welcome to another Friday Fancy (even though it is Sunday). This week, something on my bucket list which I’m in two minds about whether or not I want to do it – a bungee jump. The bungee jump I have in mind it the UK’s only jump from a bridge in Teesside.

I lived in Teesside for three years and I knew about the bridge bungee but I never got round to doing it. The transporter bridge is still in operation today and you can only do the jumps when they shut the bridge on a Sunday. I’ve watched a few people jump off the bridge over the years (in a controlled manner) – when it’s over you get lowered into a boat and returned to shore (probably an optional extra). It’s only £75(!) for a go and all the details can be found by clicking here.

The main reason why I haven’t done this jump to be honest, is the fact that I don’t really want to throw myself off a perfectly good bridge – it’s not in my DNA! I’m fine on rides that drop you straight down and roller-coasters etc. but the thought of stepping from a ledge into nothing fills me with dread. Some days I think – ‘yeah, I’d love to do that’ and other days I just politely run away and wave my arms about.

I should really get it done one day. It can’t be that bad, can it?

This entry was posted in Bucket List and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Fancy – Transporter Bridge Bungee

  1. You’ve solved a mystery for me! I frequently see someone running around waving their arms about! Now I know that’s you! Thanks for clearing that up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

