Friday Fancy – Chernobyl

 

travels-from-overend-chernobyl

Chernobyl courtesy of Google Maps

I don’t know why, but there’s something about visiting a disused nuclear power-plant that I find intriguing. It must be the engineer combined with the dark tourist in me…

Disused is probably not the right word to use when describing the Chernobyl nuclear power-plant. Although technically true, destroyed is a closer fit. Google Maps states it as closed (see above) which might just be the understatement of the evening, but again, they’re not lying.

When buildings are getting knocked down or ripped apart, I can spend ages looking at all of the wreckage and destruction with the twisted metal and bent steel supports strewn all over the place – I’m fascinated by it. Sometimes I plan climbing routes to get to the top of whatever the bulldozers haven’t attacked yet. I think it’s this fascination that lures me to Chernobyl. I would love to spend hours looking at the wreckage, but alas, there are two reasons why I can’t do this. The first is that they have just completed entombing reactor 4 and the crumbling sarcophagus inside a new curved megastructure. The second is that if I was to spend hours that close to the wreckage, I would probably get enough radiation exposure to knock a few years off my life (and the ones that remained in those twilight years would probably have some complications). Trust me, I’m a radiation protection supervisor (at work, not in my spare time).

Another reason for my longing to visit is to see the ghost town of Pryp’yat just to the north. The town was evacuated not long after the nuclear reactor blew up and everything has been left how it was back in 1986. I want to have a peek back in time. I imagine it would be similar to being in a horror movie, a deserted town with an eerie quietness to it surrounded by buildings that should be full of hustle and bustle, but instead have long been left. The giant, rusty ferris wheel would creak in the background as the wind blows and the howl of a wolf would be heard in the distance.

When I tell some people that I want to visit, they think I’ve gone mad. I suppose they have a point. A colleague asked me what my fascination was with visiting places that could potentially get me killed. “It adds a bit of excitement, doesn’t it?” was my response.

 

This entry was posted in Bucket List, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Fancy – Chernobyl

  1. Michael says:

    I’ve visited the place. The area from where tourists can view the reactor (or the dome above it actually) has radiation levels close to background. You’d probably get more radiation exposure flying to Kiev than from taking a day-trip to Pryp’yat.

    Like

    • Liam says:

      Thanks for the info Michael. Sounds likes I’d probably get more radiation from my XRF analyser I use at work!

      Like

      • Michael says:

        The most amazing thing is – they had 4 reactors there. Just one blew up. The other 3 were operational, and people worked there for decades. Only in 2000 was the last one (Reactor 3) shut down!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

